

The Indian Institute of Metals

Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001, Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: mt@nmlindia.org; chiradeep.ghosh@tatasteel.com

Advisory Committee:

Dr. Indranil Chattoraj Mr. Sudhansu Pathak

Dr. Debashish Bhattachariee

Dr. M.D. Maheshwari

Dr. Soumitra Tarafder

Executive Committee (2020-2021):

Chairperson

Dr. Mita Tarafder

Vice Chairman

Dr. A.N. Bhagat Professor Ashok Kumar Dr Sandip Ghosh Chowdhury

Secretary

Dr. Chiradeep Ghosh

Assistant Secretary

Dr. K. Ashok

Treasurer

Dr. G.K. Mandal

Jt. Treasurer

Mr. Biraj Sahu

Committee Members

Dr. Atanu Ranjan Pal

Professor B.K. Singh

Dr. M.M. Mahato Mr. Nemai Ch. Gorain

Mr. Subrata Biswas

Mr. Dhirendra Prasad

Mr. M.C. Sadhu

Dr. V.C. Srivastava

Professor Renu Kumari

Co-opted member

Dr. Anindita Chakraborty

Ms. Rima Dey

Mr. Snehasish Tripathi

Ms. Aarti Kumari

Permanent Invitee:

Dr. S.K. Ajmani

Dr. T. Bhaskar

Mr. S. Baskaran

Mr. Himanshu Shekhar Mishra

Respected Sir/Madam,

The Indian Institute of Metals (IIM) Jamshedpur chapter is organizing a national level contest on essay writing as a part of IIM platinum jubilee celebration. The event is initiated by IIM to encourage the promising and aspiring students to express their views and novel ideas in the area of materials science and metallurgy.

The flyer elucidating the details about the essay writing contest is attached herewith for your kind perusal and wide circulation in all concerned institutes in your region to encourage the students to participate in this contest.

The contest will be organized by receiving essays in three different categories from the student participants on or before **January 15, 2021** in the following topics and same will be judged by eminent professionals.

- 1. Sustainable metal industries for achieving circular economy (For B.Tech./B.E./M.Sc.)
- 2. Emerging technologies for accelerating growth in Indian metal industries (For M.Tech./M.E.)
- 3. Materials beyond steel for a new future from the new normal (For Ph.D./Research Scholars)

Essay can be submitted using online submission link: https://tinyurl.com/IIMessayform.

Out of all the entries, two best essays in each category will be awarded during IIM Platinum Jubilee celebration. In addition to that certificate of appreciation will be given to selected participants.

It would be highly appreciated if you kindly acknowledge the receipt of the e-mail and forward it to all concerned institutes in your region. We look forward to your kind support and cooperation.

Thanking you,

Mita Tarafder

Chairperson, IIM Jamshedpur Chapter

.....

Dr (Mrs.) Mita Tarafder

Head and Chief Scientist,

Knowledge Resource and Information Technology (KRIT)

CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory Jamshedpur-831007

Former General Secretary, Association of British Scholars (ABS), Jamshedpur Chapter Founder Trustee, Relearn Foundation (www.relearnfoundation.in)

.....